Five College Fellowship Program for Minority Scholars

FIVE COLLEGE FELLOWSHIP PROGRAM FOR MINORITY SCHOLARS: Located in Western Massachusetts, the five schools—Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke, and Smith Colleges and the University of Massachusetts—associate as members of a consortium, Five Colleges, Incorporated. The Five College Fellowship Program provides a year in residence at one of the campuses for minority graduate students in the final phase of the doctoral degree. The purposes of the program are to enable fellows to complete their dissertation, to encourage their interest in college teaching, and to acquaint them with the schools. Each fellow is hosted within an appropriate department or program at one of the five colleges. (At Smith, recipients hold a Mendenhall Fellowship.) The fellowship includes a stipend of $30,000, office space, housing or housing assistance, research funds, and library privileges at the five colleges. While the award places primary emphasis on completion of the dissertation, most fellows teach at the hosting institution (but no more than a single one-semester course). For further information about the deadline and application materials, visit or contact Nate Therien (; 413 542-4013).